Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

Chiz

Spec Me a Rod
« on: 19/05/2010 at 11:05 »
Hello,

I'm looking into purchasing a Rod. I'm a beginner (Only been fly fishing twice) so i'm looking for something relatively cheap, as i have no issues buying something more expensive once i gain experience and understand the basic principles and techniques.

I've been looking at the Flextec CRX88 - It's cheap and it has favourable reviews. I'm unsure if external hyperlinking is allowed, but reviews can be found online.

I think i require a 9ft 6/7 but please advise me if this is suitable or not?

I'm currently fishing for Rainbow and Brown Trout.

Any tips are more than welcome!  :z16

Chiz.

Rob Brownfield

Re: Spec Me a Rod
« Reply #1 on: 19/05/2010 at 13:10 »
Greys GRXi+  ...9 foot for a 6. Will cover everything you could want it too :)

Fulling Mill Gold Label 9 foot for a 6. Really easy casting rod...

Although others rate the Flextec, I don't ;)

Truth of the matter is you should alsways try a rod before buying (says me buying a £500 rod off of Hamish without trying it!..lol). Different people will rate rods differently due to there casting etc so its always best to try one out first if you can.

Ben Dixon

« Reply #2 on: 19/05/2010 at 15:32 »
Hi Chiz,

I have not liked the Flextec rods I have tried although they do have a good following, I would try to cast one first. 

Robs suggestion of a 9' rod rated for a #6 line is about right and ideal as an all round or first rod.  A #6 line will cast all but the largest trout flies but is not too heavy for more deicate work.

Come to the River Don Open Day at Castle Forbes Estate on Sunday 30th May, there will be various tackle maunfacturers and shops there on the day and you will be able to try a range of rods before you buy.

Cheers

Ben

Chiz

« Reply #3 on: 19/05/2010 at 18:57 »
Thanks for the replies guys! Much appreciated.