Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

Dave Chamberlain

Total beginners help needed-Isle of Lewis
« on: 12/04/2023 at 13:28 »
Hi all,
My family and I moved to Ranish a year ago, our house is roughly 8 miles from Stornoway. I started fishing when I was around 8 or 9 on local canals and rivers in Gloucester, then moved on to sea angling when my family moved to Devon. I am almost 50 now and have fished on and off all my life. So its sea angling I have done the most off, mainly from the shore. Since living here on the island I have done a lot of lure fishing for pollock and mackerel but nothing else. I have had mixed results, I have caught loads of mackerel and a few decent pollock of around 3lbs.