Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

Eddie Sinclair

First fly rod
« on: 23/12/2022 at 15:00 »
A wee while ago a few of us were talking about our first fly rods. When I was at primary school (yes a wee while ago, I am retiring next Friday😂) my grandad bought me a 9 foot milbro trufly 6/7 weight.

This prompted me to try and find one for sale. I saw one in great nick on E bay but I have never used this method of purchase before so in stepped Euan who many of you know and he got the rod for me. I picked it up yesterday and my god is it soft compared to todays weapons of choice, but I am going to put a line through it and see if I can get a trout or two on it. It’s a weird thing nostalgia but I was a wee boy again waggling this noodle like rod. Can’t wait to take it out for a play.

Thanks Euan for the help.

What was other peoples first fly rods?

Eddie

Graham Ritchie

Re: First fly rod
« Reply #1 on: 23/12/2022 at 17:38 »
My one was the slightly shorter model, the 8 1/2ft #6/7 Milbro fibreglass. I still have it and it casts a surprisingly good line still.

Sandy Nelson

« Reply #2 on: 23/12/2022 at 18:10 »
A Milbro fiberglass 8’6” 5/6 was my first fly rod.
It was my 11th birthday present. Mine was the metallic grey/blue one with metal ferrules. I learned to cast with it (Grandad and Mum) and caught my first fish on a fly I tied (I actually had my first flytying kit the Christmas before and no one to teach me)

The original met with an untimely accident in the spokes of bike wheel in my late teens.

A few years ago I tracked down a mint one and added it to my collection. It’s not quite the real thing but it evokes some very real memories and is actually quite nice to take fishing.

:z18

Eddie Sinclair

« Reply #3 on: 23/12/2022 at 19:54 »
Ace three Mibro glass rods. They must have been really popular back in the day.

Can’t wait to see what others had.

Cheers,

Eddie :z18

Fred Hay

« Reply #4 on: 24/12/2022 at 06:13 »