Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

David Bullough

I am considering buying either an Orvis Clearwater 11ft #7 Switch or a Grey’s GR 60 Switch 11ft 1 inch #7/8.  I am a Salmon fishing novice, but have fished for trout on Stillwaters over last 40 years.  I have a long term muscle disorder, so could not manage heavy Spey rods.  Some advice would be most appreciated on the rods and matching Barrio lines. Thanks

Mike Barrio

Re: Orvis Clearwater Switch v Grey’s GR 60 Switch
« Reply #1 on: 26/02/2019 at 21:33 »
Hi David ..... Welcome to the forum :z16

I'll keep an eye on this and once you've had some feedback from the others regarding rod choices, I'll do my best to help with corresponding lines.

Best wishes
Mike

David Bullough

« Reply #2 on: 26/02/2019 at 21:35 »
Thanks very much.

James Laraway

« Reply #3 on: 26/02/2019 at 22:12 »
Personally I’d spend my money on a Shakespeare oracle switch. Cheap and brilliant!

I am considering buying either an Orvis Clearwater 11ft #7 Switch or a Grey’s GR 60 Switch 11ft 1 inch #7/8.  I am a Salmon fishing novice, but have fished for trout on Stillwaters over last 40 years.  I have a long term muscle disorder, so could not manage heavy Spey rods.  Some advice would be most appreciated on the rods and matching Barrio lines. Thanks

Jeff Donovan

Re: Orvis Clearwater Switch v Grey’s GR 60 Switch New
« Reply #4 on: 26/02/2019 at 23:31 »
Before you jump in with making a purchase, have a look at Simon Gawesworth's video explaining what a switch rod is all about. A decent & informative bit of information.

Hamish Young

« Reply #5 on: 27/02/2019 at 07:56 »
I am considering buying either an Orvis Clearwater 11ft #7 Switch or a Grey’s GR 60 Switch 11ft 1 inch #7/8.  I am a Salmon fishing novice, but have fished for trout on Stillwaters over last 40 years.