Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

Treble hook lures on River Don
« on: 10/02/2019 at 21:44 »
Hi all,

I’m new to fishing the area and looking for some information on spinning tackle for early-season salmon.

The River Don conservation policy for this year suggests that treble hooked lures eg tobies, flying C’s etc aren’t permitted, and that single hooked lures must be used.

Could anyone help with a) where to buy single hooked lures or b) if it’s possible to swap the pre-fitted hooks from trebles to singles, and if so whigh single hooks to use?

Thanks in advance
Andrew

Fred Hay

Re: Treble hook lures on River Don
« Reply #1 on: 11/02/2019 at 06:31 »
Hi Andrew
I don't think that your quite right there - the DDSFB Conservation Code clause H) states -
"Spinning is permitted at the beat’s discretion.   Maximum of one treble hook (barbless) on lure. " and this is a recommendation not a legal requirement so the hook does not need to be barbless.
I would have attached a  copy of the 'Code' but I'm a bit of a dinosaur and don't know how to do that !!
 But you are correct that it is difficult to purchase lures with single hooks - if you have to go that way then you need to cut them off and replace with a single using a small split ring (as a rapala//toby type lure)

Hamish Young

Re: Treble hook lures on River Don New
« Reply #2 on: 11/02/2019 at 10:04 »
......or b) if it’s possible to swap the pre-fitted hooks from trebles to singles, and if so whigh single hooks to use?
Andrew, it's entirely possible to fit singles to pretty much any spinning lure - and they are still effective. The Yanks (and others) have been at it for years. Ideally opt for an in-line style hook,  Mustad, Partridge, VMC and Owner hooks all offer the right hooks. Chances are these are available at a tackle shop near you, so take a lure in and establish what you'll need  :z16

Dave Robb

« Reply #3 on: 11/02/2019 at 13:08 »