Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

Hamish Young

Electric outboard - recommendations
« on: 09/05/2018 at 14:01 »
So here's the thing....
I have been offered a slot in a newly formed trout fishing syndicate which will give me access to some lochs immediately to the South of Loch Ness. Not necessarily exclusive access, but a seasons access nonetheless.
Naturally, I said yes :z18
Now two of the lochs you may use an outboard but it has to be electric. This means I need to invest in the following:
1. A good quality high thrust electric outboard.
2. Two, maybe three, good quality deep cycle batteries. 
3. A decent battery charger

Now the thing is I have been toying with buying one for a few years, now I have the 'motivation' it becomes a must have item.

Although I have used several types of electric outboard I am always interested in the experience and views of others when it comes to making informed purchase decisions.
Help please  :z18

H :cool:

Eddie Sinclair

Re: Electric outboard - recommendations
« Reply #1 on: 09/05/2018 at 15:08 »
H,

Steven bought me a Shakespeare 55 electric motor quite a few years ago which I use and abuse in Durness and other lochs where I can’t use the petrol one. I cannot give a definitive comparison against other brands but with a Halfords leisure battery I have always managed a full day of fishing and flat out against the wind motoring back up against the weather to the next drift with no issues.

Eddie

Eddie Sinclair

« Reply #2 on: 09/05/2018 at 15:12 »
H,

Forgot to say, I can bring the electric motor up for you to road test on a loch if your choice as long as I  can also bring a rod to use while you are testing the motor.  :X2

Mike Barrio

« Reply #3 on: 09/05/2018 at 15:15 »
............... a cunning plan :z4

Derek Roxborough

« Reply #4 on: 09/05/2018 at 15:55 »