Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

Ashley Thomas

Forbes of Kingennie
« on: 14/04/2018 at 22:57 »
What a great water Kingennie is for a venture when the rivers are in sulk. Fished it today as part of the troutmasters heats. Fancied a go as its something I’ve never done before and I ended up winning!!

Turns out the Epic 476 can land 14lb rainbows.. I’ll take that  :z14

A photo for scale, a huge lump indeed and returned for someone else to enjoy  :z16

The bend in that Epic says it all  :z12

If your in the area or fancy a venture down to one of their luxurious lodges.. give it a try  :z16

Ash  :z16

Mike Barrio

Re: Forbes of Kingennie
« Reply #1 on: 14/04/2018 at 23:21 »
Looks like you had a good time :z12

Cheers
Mike

Ashley Thomas

« Reply #2 on: 15/04/2018 at 09:49 »
Looks like you had a good time :z12

Cheers
Mike
Sure did Mike, always great to be out on the water and when the big ones play its a bonus! That smallstream on the 476 is a dream come true, thanks a lot for that!

Cheers
Ash

Rob Brownfield

« Reply #3 on: 16/04/2018 at 08:24 »
I was there the other week for a natter about the coarse loch they have recently re-opened.

Interestingly the chap said they were not stocking big trout anymore...if that's not a big trout, I wonder what used to be in the Boathouse pool?..lol

Ashley Thomas

« Reply #4 on: 17/04/2018 at 10:47 »
I was there the other week for a natter about the coarse loch they have recently re-opened.

Interestingly the chap said they were not stocking big trout anymore...if that's not a big trout, I wonder what used to be in the Boathouse pool?..lol
I did have a wonder round the coarse loch for a look, I believe its jammed with roach and some decent perch but I’m not really clued up on coarse fishing as such!