Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

Gethin Jones

Info on some Orvis rods
« on: 11/03/2018 at 07:53 »
I’ve been offered first refusal on a range of fishing tackle in a bereavement sale, amongst the lot is a Helios 2 10ft 6wt but I have no experience of Helios rods being a Sage and Scott fan, could anyone give me a brief comparison to say a Sage Xp, Z-axis or Scott Radian in the same lengths and line weight?
There is also a Helios ZG 9ft 9wt in the hoard, but unless it has a much nicer action than my Xi2 I’m not that interested to be honest.

Hamish Young

Re: Info on some Orvis rods
« Reply #1 on: 11/03/2018 at 08:54 »
Start with 9' #9wt Helios - I could be interested in that.... I don't need it of course  :X1

The H2 I have never fished with, but I have cast back to back against a Sage One - albeit both were 9' #5wts which is neither my favourite rod length or line weight. I digress.

Now if it's reasonable to say the 'One' was a replacement for the Z-Axis and by and large was an evolution of what had gone before then I think it's fair to say that the H2 is a step ahead of the One and a good afternoons walk ahead of the 'Z'. But it depends what you look for in a rod..... for me the H2 felt better in the hand, nicely balanced and with good recovery but maybe softer in the tip than the original Helios.

Don't know if that's any help at all to you Gethin  :z8

Gethin Jones

« Reply #2 on: 11/03/2018 at 09:40 »
Thanks for your reply Hamish,
From a personal point of view the Sage one was far from an advancement compared to the Z, for me it was way too stiff and lifeless and the reason I moved to Scott, if the Helios 2  has a similar action and feel to my 10ft Z then it may be worth consideration as part of the lot I’m interested in.
I may just take a day off work this week and drive the 170 odd miles to take a closer look of what’s on offer.

Rob Brownfield

« Reply #3 on: 12/03/2018 at 07:53 »