Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

Peter Davidson

We had not been idle ALL summer with a "nearly" day out at Dunlichity   some time ago now - I nearly caught my first fly caught trout but due to my incompetence it escaped. The rest of that day was spent with fish doing exactly what a lot of other contributors on this site also reported around then. They were extracting the urine! They danced about, nudged the fly, stuck their noses out of the water. Anything but get hooked. So I didn't feel so bad after that non event as I knew there were fellow sufferers and those pesky trout were not specifically targeting the Absolute Beginner.

Sunday past and Day Release was keen for another day out so we headed off early to Glen of Rothes. A choice made more by weather than fishing. We'd considered the wonderful Loch Lagg again but it promised overcast sultry warmth mixed with drizzle - midge heaven. Maybe some would relish the thought of all that surface feeding frenzy but we live here in the west and have far too much respect for the midge to muscle into their turf!!!!!

Rothes was surrounded by fluffy clouds, a fair breeze and some sunshine and was a bit busier than other fisheries we'd been to but there was plenty room. Good banter and lots of advice preceded our walk out to the W shaped fly loch with neatly cut grass and everything looking very tidy. We decided to walk to the head of the middle leg of the W as that, to us, looked the best option for any wind variations. Not a lot of ripples from surface feeding but never mind - we were as keen as ever and soon had traditional dry flies tied on and tempting the residents.