Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

Robin Roos

Oh! Now I know what that rattle was....
« on: 05/10/2016 at 08:46 »
I'm new to fly.  My only experience of fishing is spinning when I was school boy, and more recently teaching my youngest kids to do the same.

I picked up a Guideline 9' #9 EPIK Pike kit this week!  I eagerly put it together, and have been out casting with it precisely twice (both times were yesterday).  The rod had a slight rattle, which made me keep checking that all four sections were firmly located.

This morning I took her to a low pier in a small lagoon to practice casting for a third time.  I had a pike fly, but the small-boat marina is not known for fish of any size, so although I took my landing net (to manage the "upside risk" of accidentally catching something), and my pike pliars (in case the fish I accidentally caught had teeth), and my knife (to manage the "downside risk" of hooking a boat in the marina) this outing was purely for casting practice. 

Still the rattle.  Reseat the rod sections.  Cast some more.  Still the rattle...

Then, cast and "plop".  Oops, no reel.

I was holding a reel-less rod, and looking around to gain an appreciation of what had happened, and to see if anyone had noticed by incompetence!  My 1-day-old reel, were now at the bottom of the lagoon at the end of the jetty.... 

So now the game changed.  Now I was actually fishing...for a reel.

I started pulling the reel up by the line, and quickly realised to my dismay that I had been casting with the reel set on minimum drag.  Each pull merely unwound more line from the reel.  Now, the EPIK is a pike kit, and pike can run, so the reel is spooled with a very generous amount of backing behind the #9 line.  The amount of line loose on the jetty was growing and growing (and it was a breezy morning, which did not bode well for my being able to unravel the line once the reel was eventually recovered - if the reel even could be recovered).