Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

Andrew Ellis

Dirty Duster type simple dry/damps
« on: 13/05/2016 at 15:39 »
As a newbie here I've not posted a fly on here before,  but as I've been having good success with these of late I thought I'd pop them up.  As with nigh on everything I do, just very very simple ties. I apply floatant to the 'wing' only, I want the body to break the surface. I fish these in 12 down to 20, 14's and 16's are the most used. I've only used them on stillwater this season, not had an opportunity to venture out on a river yet. :cry

Hook: Fulling Mill 35050, the emerger style are with Hanak H390BL's
Rib: Madeira opal
Body: A scruffy blend
Wing/Hackle: Badger saddle, clipped underneath (badger works nicely for a midge pattern but I do use other hackles too.)

Andrew

Mike Barrio

Re: Duster type simple dry/damps
« Reply #1 on: 13/05/2016 at 18:01 »
Great stuff Andrew :z16

Andrew Ellis

« Reply #2 on: 17/05/2016 at 10:18 »
Thank you Mike, they're certainly working for me.... managed to ambush this one last evening from the lake on a #14 straight shank version, just sub 6 1/2,  it's made my (stillwater) season. Not the best photo admittedly and not nearly as pretty as your Scottish WBT, but fish was returned. 

Mike Barrio

« Reply #3 on: 17/05/2016 at 10:51 »
Nice one Andrew :z12

Allan Liddle

« Reply #4 on: 18/05/2016 at 12:36 »
Cracker

Dirty Duster one of my top flies both on river's and lochs.  Try it with a black rabbit / Olive Glister mix for body and grizzle hackle, great emerging midge pattern.

Andrew Ellis

Re: Dirty Duster type simple dry/damps
« Reply #5 on: 20/05/2016 at 15:04 »