Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

Graham Coles

To stretch or not to stretch
« on: 16/02/2016 at 19:28 »
Hi everybody I have taken delivery of a wf7 mallard line (my first Barrio line, and I have a funny feeling not my last).
I was going to put it on a cassette today but my wife had other plans for me. I intend doing it tomorrow , Im pretty new to fly fishing and it's going to be the first time I put a line on myself.
I'm okay with attaching it to the backing  and I have bought a fly line winder. Are there any tips and tricks in putting a fly line on and do I need to stretch it.
Thanks in advance.
Graham

Mike Barrio

Re: To stretch or not to stretch
« Reply #1 on: 16/02/2016 at 20:15 »
Hi Graham ....... welcome to the forum :z16

No need to stretch the line,  it is just a case of making sure that your reel and the packaging spool are 'in-line' in a straight line when you load your reel, best to have something like a pencil through the packaging spool to help with this and either ask somebody to hold the spool by the pencil in front of your reel, or you can support the pencil between your knees and reel in.

If the packaging spool is laid on the floor and the line then reeled in while it coils over the edge of the stationary spool then this will result in line twist and you don't want that to happen.

Best wishes
Mike

Graham Coles

« Reply #2 on: 16/02/2016 at 20:22 »
Mike, thanks for the reply and thank you for the prompt delivery of my new line.
I'm looking forward to using it , as stated before I'm  pretty new to fly fishing and have heard good things about your lines. I've bought a fly winder in the hope that it will make the job easier.
Going off topic slightly I have a sinking and intermediate line on spare cassettes. I don't really like fishing with them as I can't seem to get them off the water to recast properly. I see you do a sink tip what would you recommend that be used for. I was thinking of using it for buzzers.