Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

Scolopax

Poor Man's Vice ?
« on: 17/01/2014 at 14:47 »
I am new to fly fishing and looking to start fly-tying, but the posts about the vice to get, are so confusing.  It seems to come down to personal preference and I have not had a play with any yet, so am not sure which one will suit me.
Most people seem to sell the first one they buy and I cannot afford to do that. So, I was wondering one night, how difficult it would be to make one ??

Here is the prototype (working version) of the Mk I.

It took a lot of R&D and re-thinking initial ideas.  I have sourced all the bits myself - but the prototype has been made from stuff I found in drawers and in the garage, mostly discarded.  I do not have a workshop and am not an engineer, it has all been done with a standard power drill and a vice.  I need to find someone with a lathe - if I make another one :-))

Tricky some bits were, but it is up and running now. The jaws are hand ground to the profile I though might be best and the material is hardened steel.  It is easy to clamp a very small midge fly, or a big salmon one, and the hook will bend before it comes loose - if you apply too much pressure to the eye!

How is it looking ??
C

Eddie Sinclair

Re: Poor Man's Vice ?
« Reply #1 on: 17/01/2014 at 14:53 »
Colin,
looks pretty damn good, and if it holds the hooks that you need it to securely then that is all you need.

Good effort.

Eddie.  :z16 :z16

Mike Barrio

« Reply #2 on: 17/01/2014 at 16:44 »
Looks really good ...... Great stuff :z14

Best wishes
Mike

Hamish Young

« Reply #3 on: 17/01/2014 at 16:52 »
Impressive  -sort of thing Kev should take photos of  as inspiration for the one he's 'going to make' machined from gold-pressed-unobtanium.

H :wink

Peter McCallum

« Reply #4 on: 17/01/2014 at 17:14 »
When do you go into production?? :cool:

Marc Fauvet

« Reply #5 on: 17/01/2014 at 17:28 »
 :z16

Ben Dixon

« Reply #6 on: 17/01/2014 at 17:41 »
Very impressive  :z14