Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

Mike Barrio

What's your vice?
« on: 25/11/2013 at 23:42 »
How's about this one from Mauro Caracalli in Italy ....... pretty awesome :z16

Rob Brownfield

Re: What's your vice?
« Reply #1 on: 26/11/2013 at 07:50 »
Very nice indeed. I am sticking with my Apex Anvil although I fancy the rotary version. Its lasted 7 years which is not bad for something that routinely holds hooks from 4/0 down to 18.

Jonathan Kerr

« Reply #2 on: 26/11/2013 at 08:55 »
hmm...that certainly looks like a beauty mike. 

i've been using a cheapo vice for the last 4-5 years. I have to say i've not really felt like i needed any thing else! the jaws have finally started to show a little wear though and don't grip smaller hooks quite as well. I suppose i'll be looking for an apex or something similar soonish. I will miss tying on a 20 quid vice though, when others spend hundreds and never use them properly!

Marc Fauvet

« Reply #3 on: 26/11/2013 at 09:28 »
that thing might be nice to start a fire....  :z4

got this a month or so ago. seriously excellent  :z16
http://www.flytyingboutique.com/product.cfm?product=1197#.UpRpcJFhyRo

marc

Eddie Sinclair

« Reply #4 on: 26/11/2013 at 10:42 »
hmm...that certainly looks like a beauty mike. 

i've been using a cheapo vice for the last 4-5 years. I have to say i've not really felt like i needed any thing else! the jaws have finally started to show a little wear though and don't grip smaller hooks quite as well. I suppose i'll be looking for an apex or something similar soonish. I will miss tying on a 20 quid vice though, when others spend hundreds and never use them properly!

Like Rob,