Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

James Abel

Banana fingers
« on: 29/08/2012 at 21:49 »
Hi guys I'm new to tying and have hands like shovels. I have been breaking thread can I wrap over it or is it start again :z8
Thanks for any replies j :z18

Rob Brownfield

Re: Banana fingers
« Reply #1 on: 29/08/2012 at 22:18 »
Depends where it breaks. On my Pike flies I sometimes break the thread when finishing the head. I just wrap over as the head is so big anyway.

On smaller flies this is harder to do as it can bulk out the head/body.

Peter McCallum

« Reply #2 on: 29/08/2012 at 22:30 »
Forget about the flies for now, hook in vice start the thread then wrap the thread steadily increasing tension till the  thread breaks. Then do it again and again..............................and again till you get used to the point where the thread breaks. Don't put any more pressure than that on your thread  :grin

Oh and make sure you don't have any rags on your fingers/nails which will catch the thread and maybe break it. Also check your vice for rags.  :z16

That's presuming it's not the bobbin holder which is your problem  :shock :X1

Marc Fauvet

« Reply #3 on: 29/08/2012 at 23:27 »
i'm with Peter, learn to not break it first ! it's an invaluable skill that will stay with you for the rest of your tying career  :cool:

btw, what thread are you using ? some are well... shite

cheers,
marc

James Abel

« Reply #4 on: 30/08/2012 at 07:10 »
It's all flybox materials I use im just tying lures just now. I don't think the fingers could manage a 18 spider but in time I hopefully will.  :z12 all the best j

Peter McCallum

« Reply #5 on: 30/08/2012 at 09:14 »
I don't think the fingers could manage a 18 spider but in time I hopefully will. 

Ah it's 'I can't tie wee flies' syndrome you're suffering from. If you can't tie 18 spiders the tie 10's then go down to 12's then 14's.....think you can see we're going. :z16

Rob Brownfield

« Reply #6 on: 30/08/2012 at 14:48 »