Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

mike

Evening Chaps and chapesses ,

Well ,

just began my river fishing recently and bought a new spin rod and reel fae somers last week .  I bought line from another well known shop ,BB, and was advised to use 15lb line but i cant recall the name off the top of my noggin just now ....
My fishing buddy says that 12lb maxima is the best but as im new to this lark i thought i would ask for your guys advice on here as too what you all use and what in your opinion is decent nylon t use ............  and breath....

Regards ,

Mike G .

Hamish Young

Re: Fits a good nylon t use ???? oh mi heed ......
« Reply #1 on: 19/05/2012 at 09:22 »
If you've bought 15lb, use it  :wink

I've always regarded my 'main line' when spinning as needing to be robust, the 'leader composition' to the end being rather more important. Obviously, that depends on what I'm fishing on the end. Sometimes you might want to go straight through to your lure and not fish a 'leader'.
Fishing a 'leader' is a tip I picked up from a very nice old gent who I fished with when working in Wales (cough..... 21 years ago :shock). His advice has stuck with me since, I consider the 18lb maxima on my spinning reel as a 'means to an end'..... in that what I attach to it is considerably more important than then the line itself.

12lb might suit some, 18 others and probably 20lb in some hands.  Personally, I wouldn't worry about replacing 15lb to be honest. Learning how to correctly fish a variety of lures is rather more important.

H :z3

mike

« Reply #2 on: 19/05/2012 at 19:27 »
Hamish,

cheers for the reply and advise  :z18 . Are you saying you fish different lures in different ways !!!!!!!!  geez , iv got a lot to learn by the sounds of things  :z6

Toby's not the same as a rapala or flying c's   .....    OH MI HEED .. I should have stuck with fly fishing in a stocked loch  :z4