Fishing The Fly Forum, based in Aberdeenshire,  Scotland

TimTheFlier

Parkhill ADAA Club Fishery
« on: March 04, 2012, 12:04:37 PM »
Just like to add my tuppence worth ...

Just joined the ADAA so took advantage of the mild weather to discover Parkhill fishery - what a treat.

Managed three (I'm still quite new to it all !) nice Rainbows (2 ~ 3.5 lb) all DEEP and S...L...O...W on black or olive #10 buzzers.

The membership fee has already justified itself and the BT river season hasn't even started yet !

Tightlines,
TtF
« Last Edit: March 04, 2012, 16:58:41 PM by Mike Barrio »

Jim Eddie

Re: Fine Weather and Fine Sport
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2012, 15:03:52 PM »
Nice photo's Tim  :z16

:z18

Jim
"Because in a world where most men seem to spend their lives doing what they hate, my fishing is at once an endless source of delight and an act of small rebellion."

Goolager

Re: Parkhill ADAA Club Fishery
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2012, 18:39:04 PM »
Hi Tim,
I've only fished there 3 times but it's a nice location, the fish give a good account of themselves & there's some great fun to be had with dries when nowt is showing and it's excellent when they are surface feeding.

Nice one Tim  :z16

Iain

TimTheFlier

« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2012, 19:15:00 PM »
There were odd fish surfacing (taking either on or just under the surface), but only half dozen or so rises over the few days I was there.

Managed to get one to turn to a (home made pattern) small olive dry (#14 or #16 can't remember) but it turned away again and then no more, hence I decided to go deep.

I have to say the fish seemed in excellent condition and after allowing them time to recover they all pulled away from my hand to fight another day.

I can see me becoming a regular face there as it's convenient for work ("yes Dear, I will be working late again this evening...") a beautifully quiet spot (with the exception of the helicopter arrivals) with great fishing.