Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

Jonathan Kerr

shooting head for Guideline AWM 14ft 9/10
« on: 18/02/2012 at 14:13 »
Hi folks,

Having recently started salmon fishing (first go this morning!) i'm looking for a shooting head for a Guideline AWM 14ft 9/10 i'm borrowing from a friend.  I've made shooting heads before for my trout rods, but as i'm completely new to salmon rod casting i'm really looking for an easy-ish option!

After searching online for the last hour or so i've see that the Guideline Power Taper 'Ready To Go' lines could be a good option...in fact...the 'distance' ones are cheap on GAC just now...£25. Does anyone own the above rod, or able to advise if this is indeed a good line in the 9/10, or are there other good line options or weights that might suit better?

thanks!

Jonathan

outspan001

Re: shooting head for Guideline AWM 14ft 9/10
« Reply #1 on: 18/02/2012 at 18:25 »
Hi there,

Go buy the ones at GAC.

I have a guideline Le Cie 12ft 6in 8/9 and have a full selection of heads for that. They are fantastic for the rods. The ones at GAC are the distance ones which are 13m long, which are a little more difficult to cast if you are new to Salmon fishing, but should be no issues. I learnt using these heads and they are great. I find that for big tubes etc i prefer the 11.5m short cut ones, as they turn the fly over better.

I have a selection of 9/10 wt ones that i use on my Loop 14ft opti spey, and they go like a rocket. They are my fav shooting head, and with them being prelooped ( the ready to go ones ), they are easy to use, no faffing around cutting down for the rod.