Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

bobinalong

Testing the water..........
« on: 23/11/2011 at 20:26 »
Hi all, I am new to this fine forum. Only discovered it when I bought a Barrio 3DTf line for my new rod. If you guys are as good as  Mike's lines I could be happy here.  :wink

Sandy Nelson

Re: Testing the water..........
« Reply #1 on: 23/11/2011 at 20:33 »
Welcome Bob

Good choice of line :z16, Hope you enjoy our company as much

Cheers :z18

Sandy

bobinalong

« Reply #2 on: 23/11/2011 at 20:46 »
Cheers Sandy  :z18

I'm sure that I will.

Mike Barrio

« Reply #3 on: 24/11/2011 at 00:07 »
Welcome to the forum Bob :z16

Pleased to read that you like the fly line.

Best wishes
Mike

bobinalong

« Reply #4 on: 24/11/2011 at 18:26 »
Thanks Mike.
The line works beautifully with my Greys GRXi + 7ft 3 weight. Managed to fool one nice brownie so far, which is not as bad as it sounds, as we don’t get a lot of wild brown trout in the small rivers I fish down here in the SE. I wonder, is it sacrilegious to catch chub, dace, perch and roach on such elevated gear?

Iain Goolager

« Reply #5 on: 24/11/2011 at 19:31 »
Hi Bobingalong,

I personally can't see past Salmonoids when it comes to fly fishing but that's just what I'm used to and I'd go for any fish that could be taken on the fly especially if they can be taken on 'trout methods' and even better if from running water.

It'd be great to see pictures of the waters and species that you catch.  :z16

Iain

bobinalong

« Reply #6 on: 24/11/2011 at 20:20 »
Hi Iain