Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

Quickcast 84

salmon fishing
« on: 14/07/2011 at 19:49 »
hi folks

me and a mate will be heading for the river don for some salmon fishing in august.i dont have a clue about the river,good beats,flies etc etc,never fished it.could someone fill me in please,where whould we be best to start? i am a complete novice at salmon fishing.

cheers darren  :z3

Hamish Young

Re: salmon fishing
« Reply #1 on: 14/07/2011 at 22:00 »
Let's start with what gear you have/intend to use and then go from there :z17

:z3

Quickcast 84

« Reply #2 on: 14/07/2011 at 22:20 »
hi hamish

i have all the gear,salmon rods,fly rods,spinning rods and can put them out a fair distance,so no problem there.i have got all the spinners,lures,tobys,rapalas,flies etc etc,again no problem.the problem whould be whats the best part of the river to start fishing from and what works in that part of the river.i got all my gear from a freind of my fathers,who can no longer fish because of ill health.now i whould like to pay him back with a nice don salmon  :z12

cheers darren

Quickcast 84

« Reply #3 on: 15/07/2011 at 21:39 »
folks

all i need is a part to start from,monnymusk,inverurie,castle forbes,whats best??? this forum is full of don bred anglers.

please help.

don't want to put a few day's fishing to waste fishing on the wrong part of the river.

any info is greatly appreciated  :z14.i will also followup with a in depth photo report of how thing's went on the outing.

cheers darren  :z16

Matt Henderson

« Reply #4 on: 15/07/2011 at 22:43 »
Depends whether you want to fish a single or double hander?

Further upstream lends itself better to a singlehander and downstream more a double hander. The council beats are reasonable value for money.

However by my understanding the Don is having a terrible season for silver tourists.

Cheers

Matt

Quickcast 84

« Reply #5 on: 15/07/2011 at 23:04 »