Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

jpm75

My first classic salmon fly
« on: 25/05/2011 at 20:49 »

Peter McCallum

Re: My first classic salmon fly
« Reply #1 on: 25/05/2011 at 22:31 »

Nice fly for a first go especially the head, but there are heaps of problems tying these flies the main one being materials. The normal, run of the mill trout & salmon feathers will need a ridiculous amount of sorting to get even a couple of feathers suitable for Fully dressed, so be warned if you're going down this road, it get hideously expensive. :shock

As a critique, and believe me I'm a novice at these flies :oops, the JC usually reaches to the points of the Tail & topping which should meet at their tips. You will need to form the Toppings  round something, a glass for instance, to give them the correct curve. To do this thoroughly wet them in water or spit - good idea to wash them first - then lay them on the outside of the glass in a straight line & let them dry. When dry they will keep their shape nicely  :cool: Also try to keep a single line of black on your tippet wing not easy as i found out doing a 'Megan Boyd' which needed 2 whole heads to get 4 OK feathers for the fly (my fault I used too big a hook).

Here's one I tied for GAIA using their colours.

It's ok but there are a lot of faults in it, splitting JC, wing twist,I had 3 dozen Lady Amhurst feathers to sort to get the 2 feathers for each colour of the wing - see what I mean about expensive? The rest I can probably use on trout flies eventually.

Keep up the good work.

peter

jpm75

« Reply #2 on: 26/05/2011 at 09:12 »
Peter thanks for the advice, when I looked at the fly afterwards and compared it to the picture of the original I realised the jc and tippet wing just wasn't right. There is also some indian crow missing from the tail. I'm sure I'll have some more photos posted when I get my hands on some good materials.
Cheers
John

Peter McCallum

« Reply #3 on: 26/05/2011 at 18:38 »