Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

darren78

Sea or Brown trout
« on: 20/07/2010 at 21:12 »
I caught this the other night and there is a bit of speculation as to if it is a sea trout or brown trout. I am new to targeting brown trout so have a picture in my head of what a brown trout should look like that is why after landing this i thought it was a sea trout? If you compare pictures of my trout to brown trout pictures on the forum you can clearly see a difference. Any advice would be a great help like if it is a brown why is it more silverfish than the usual brown trout picture on here :z8 Thanks Darren.

Here is the fish i caught

( edit = resize photo to message board size )

Ben Dixon

Re: Sea or Brown trout
« Reply #1 on: 20/07/2010 at 21:20 »
Difficult to tell from the picture conclusively.  I'd say it is a sea trout but I could be wrong, the only way to tell these things is by taking a scale sample.  I have caught a number of silvery brownies on the Don and also some very brown trouty looking ones, very difficult to tell without seeing the fish.

CHeers

Ben

Iain Goolager

« Reply #2 on: 20/07/2010 at 23:05 »
C Trout

Noel Kelly

« Reply #3 on: 20/07/2010 at 23:19 »
Iain dat's a pur frt m8.

I have had a look back through the pics on the don thread and I must agree it doesn't look like the brownies pictured.

Jim Eddie

« Reply #4 on: 21/07/2010 at 06:23 »
See Troot  :z4

:z18

Jim

darren78

« Reply #5 on: 21/07/2010 at 16:16 »
Cheers Guys

Apologies for the picture quality i only had my camera phone to hand at the time? but like i said being new to this i thought it was obvious by looking that a sea trout is a sea trout and a brown a brown, I have so much to learn ???:oops

Thanks again  Darren

Richard Tong

« Reply #6 on: 21/07/2010 at 17:37 »