Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

Chiz

Hi, i'm new :)
« on: 13/05/2010 at 11:54 »
Hello,

I thought i would introduce myself because i'm new to this sport and i'm after advice and tips!!

I used to do a lot of sea fishing about 10 years ago and decided to try my hand at fly fishing. My friend and I went to Lochters on Tuesday for a 4 hour session and tutorial and it went amazingly. I caught an (estimated by official ) 11lbs Rainbow trout!!

Anyways, i can see myself taking this sport up and i'm after some advice on what would be a good kit for a beginner. Is £100 to buy waterproofs, rod, line, flies etc a realistic budget or should i be looking to spend more than that?

Anyways, I can see myself posting here quite regularly (I work in IT, so i'm sitting in front of a pc all day :-P) so i just thought i'd say hi!

Cheers,

Lee.

Jim Eddie

Re: Hi, i'm new :)
« Reply #1 on: 13/05/2010 at 12:56 »
Hi Lee Welome to the forum

I reckon you clould justabout get an entry level outfit for £100 (try Flextec on e-bay) but its stretching it to get waterproofs as well.
Buy the outfit and if you do like the sport than increase your budget and buy better kit.

:z18

Jim   

Chiz

« Reply #2 on: 13/05/2010 at 13:10 »
Thanks Jim.

I'm gathering that Flextec is a respectable brand then?

What would be a decent size rod to begin with? and am i right in thinking Intermediate line is what i should be purchasing?

I'm not overly fussed about a reel as i just pull the line in with my hand... (Not sure if there's a name for this technique at all).

Sorry for all the questions, but it's the easiest way to learn :)

Chiz

« Reply #3 on: 13/05/2010 at 13:25 »
I have seen this complete kit for £69.99.

"Flextec CRX88 3 piece Fly Rod worth £349.99
Matching Fly Reel with Free Spare Spool (RRP £39.99)
Flextec Aeroloop Fly Line worth £49.99
Sumo Backing line
Trout Landing Net
Airflo Extra Strong Leader
Classic Wooden Fly box
Plus 50 Assorted Gold Head Flies worth £24.99"