Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

Trout Master

Back To Fishing
« on: 29/01/2009 at 17:43 »
Hi iv decided to pick the old fly rod up after 7yr. I use to go fly fishing regularly but fell out with it. Use to fish at sharpley waters Seaham now living in Inverness. Fished for about 2yrs before i gave it up so i would say im still a rookie lol. ok i have a question

1) When i use to fish i sometimes used wet fly with dry line. I told a mate once and he just laughed at me said you dont use wet fly on dry line. But i use to catch plenty of fish with it. So does it not matter what line or fly i use.

I might buy a new rod havent got a clue were my old one is. Had a John Willson rod so could you also recomend a good rod. I need to find a loch first to fish lol so if any one knows any around inverness help would be great. I know theres one at aviemore but whant somewere more local. Thanks

Jim Eddie

Re: Back To Fishing
« Reply #1 on: 29/01/2009 at 18:30 »
Hi Trout Master

If you are form Inverness go into Grahams , behind the castle , they will tell you all the local lochs , they may also let you try some rods .

Fishery's not to far away are Stoneyfield at Alness and Dunlichty just south of Inverness.   

:z18

Jim

Noel Kelly

« Reply #2 on: 29/01/2009 at 18:57 »
Hi Trout master, your friend is talking sh1te :z4. In a lot of situations a floating line is all you need, i rarely use any other densities even though i carry them around with me alright :z8   
In cold weather or very bright sunny conditions the fish will probably be lying deeper, then perhaps a sinking line of some sort(there are many with different sink rates etc) will keep your flys in the feeding zone for longer.
I wont advise on rods but im sure plenty others here will, but a few things to think about are
Whats your budget?
What do you intend to mostly fish for, stocked rainbows, wild brownies, seatrout, salmon?
Mostly rivers, loughs or fisheries?