Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

Fishing the Don.
« on: 15/05/2008 at 22:06 »
As the latest forum member, Firstly a hello to everyone, and secondly a few questions that some people may be able to help with. I need some advice on fishing the Don. I am pretty new to fly fishing, I started at the beginning of last year but the job I have gives me plenty of time off and I have basically been fishing Stillwater’s quite frequently. This is very enjoyable but I would like more of a challenge and the chance of catching wild fish. Can anyone recommend the best beats for a beginner? Also do you need waders for the beats? Which waders would you recommend, chest, thigh, breathable, neoprene? Any help would be much appreciated.   

Klink.

Richard Tong

Re: Fishing the Don.
« Reply #1 on: 17/05/2008 at 17:32 »
Klink,

In the absence of any other replies so far......it seems that the main effort for Trout appears to be from Inverurie upstream. On the (limited) experience that I have had of the river I would say that anywhere from Monymusk upriver is a good bet this time in the season though I have by no means seen all the beats.

As for the waders if you do not have any go for Breathables and if it is cold then you can layer underneath with thermals as needs be on any particular day. Get Stockingfoot if you can with Wader Boots with Felt soles to go with the Stockingfoots,

Richard

« Reply #2 on: 17/05/2008 at 20:39 »
Thanks for the advice Richard. I`ve been speaking to a few people and they all say the same about the waders. So it looks like I’ll go with the stocking-foot breathables. Can any-one recommend a pair that is hard wearing at a reasonable price? I see that there are lot`s to choose from!

puddock

« Reply #3 on: 17/05/2008 at 21:30 »
I have a pair of Greys (with Greys wading boots) and they have been excellent.

Hamish Young

« Reply #4 on: 18/05/2008 at 07:55 »