Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

Richard Williamson

Newbie - Hardy Demon rod question
« on: 19/07/2023 at 11:09 »
Hi All.
If you've seen my introduction you will know that I am new to the sport. I've been offered a Hardy 10ft 6wt Demon rod and reel (in exchange for some 'free' labour of mine). Looks to be in good condition and has sat in the owners cupboard for a few years unused. Would this weight and length of rod get me started on the local Assynt and Sutherland lochs ok or is it a bit of an overkill?

Many thanks

Richard

James Laraway

Re: Newbie - Hardy Demon rod question
« Reply #1 on: 19/07/2023 at 14:33 »
a #6 is probably a wee bit on the heavy side.....

Mike Barrio

« Reply #2 on: 19/07/2023 at 17:26 »
Slight overkill maybe, but I wouldn't rule it out, as a #6 can be handy in a bit of wind  :z16

Richard Williamson

« Reply #3 on: 20/07/2023 at 10:36 »
Thank you for the advice/comments. We do have a lot of wind around these parts!

Could I ask what might be more appropriate? A 9ft 4 wt or similar? I do have a birthday coming up soon!

Many thanks.

Richard

Mike Barrio

« Reply #4 on: 20/07/2023 at 11:11 »
Hi Richard

These things are very much down to personal preferences, some folk might prefer a #5 and #3 as their usual 'go to' rods, others a #6 and #4.

I checked Stewart's website just now and saw that his hire rods for Assynt tend to be a #6 as a general loch & river set up, and a #3 for small streams. I imagine that he has chosen these as suitable for a wide range of visiting anglers for bank and boat fishing. See https://assyntflyfishing.com/services/equipment-hire/

Personally, I'd be quite happy with a #5 or a #6 as a general loch & river set up.

I haven't cast a Hardy Demon for a while, perhaps somebody else can comment on that particular rod, as the rod action might not be ideal for somebody that is new to the sport?

Cheers
Mike

Hamish Young

« Reply #5 on: 20/07/2023 at 15:59 »