Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

Iain Goolager

Tube Flies
« on: 19/02/2008 at 10:43 »
Calling all salmon tube fly experts,

I've taken another funny turn and now want to tie some Salmon Tubes. I've orderd Mikael Frodins' DVD on this but it's on back order so I'm trying to accumulate some materials at an early stage.

I've heard this 'n' that about certain 'new' materials (to me that is) eg. Arctic Fox, Templedog?, etc. and it's apparent that I 'aint much of a clue. I'm planning to buy the F.I.T.S tube system in a couple of colours but as for wing material - help!

It'd also be nice to have (can't find on tinterweb) a materials list for a 'Marauder Pot Bellied Pig' or any other such tube fly that a season fisher might suggest.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Iain

Jay Scott

Re: Tube Flies
« Reply #1 on: 19/02/2008 at 12:50 »

Hi Iain,

I'm no expert but a lot of new patterns do include the new materials like arctic fox due to the movement and they do look very nice!  :grin if you are just startring, i don't know what your tying skills are like (mine aren't the best to say the least :wink) but the older patterns with bucktail ie cascade tubes are still very effective. Here is what i woud reccomend however i am relatively new to tubes as well.

Arctic fox (various colours or Veniard do a mixed pack)
Bucktail ( same as above)
Antron wool ( black, orange and red)
Dyed hackles (fl. orange, yellow etc..)
Jungle cock (not neccesary the fish don't mind and is expensive)
Flashbrite dubbing seems to be a popular body
and....

Last but definatly not least tubes!

Hope this helps as i say what i would do but hopefully others will leave there ideas for comparison.

P.s where did you order the Mikael Frodins dvd? i want it!  :z7

Cheers, Jay

Rob Brownfield

« Reply #2 on: 19/02/2008 at 13:52 »
Why pay for DVDs when Youtube has all you need ;)

and have a look to the right..loads of "modern" demos