Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

INSCH INFO
« on: 07/01/2008 at 12:55 »
Hi folks, i am new to this fly fishing and am after some help please. I am hoping to go to Insch in a couple of weeks as a treat from the good lady. can anyone please advise me what flies ( By Names ) would it be advised to take as i have not got a clue as i have just taken up the fly after years of the good old worm. would you also have ideas where is the hot spots for someone like me as i can't cast that far but still would like some sucess.
thanks
New Boy   :z8

Hamish Young

Re: INSCH INFO
« Reply #1 on: 07/01/2008 at 13:48 »
This time of year I'd suggest an intermediate or sinking line with a Cats Whisker, Walters Secret Weapon or some similar gaudy lure fished slowly with short sharp jabs. The staff at Insch will point you in the right direction but time spent watching other anglers and where they fish will probably guide you in the right direction. Distance isn't too much of a problem, a lot of fish will be swimming along 'drop offs' so rather than cast a long way out try and cast along the line of the bank but into deepish water.
Vary depth (by allowing the line to sink) and retrieve until you get a fish  :z16 If you only have a floater make sure you count to 20 or so before retrieving.

Good luck  :wink

Mike Barrio

« Reply #2 on: 07/01/2008 at 14:17 »
Good advice from Hamish as always :z16

Yes, don't be afraid to ask for help from Yvonne and Jim at the fishery, fishery managers/owners are always keen to help you the best that they can and they do want you to catch fish and enjoy yourself :cool:

Don't be afraid to speak to other anglers on the bank either, you'll find that most anglers are very keen to help you catch a few fish when you are starting out and it will give them a buzz to see you catch one if they have helped you.

Good luck
Mike Barrio

Iain Goolager

« Reply #3 on: 07/01/2008 at 16:22 »
Hi New Boy,

Sound advice indeed. Here are a few tips that I would give;