Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

danbruce

First fly tying kit.
« on: 23/12/2011 at 20:15 »
Well after a long day finishing my christmas shopping i decided to treat myself, so i popped into Somers and decided that i was going to buy a vice, hooks and some materials to keep me busy until the new season.

Being a total novice i decided that the deal that they have on at the moment of vice, tools, materials and book giving SBS for 12 flies (using the supplied material) was for me.

Having spent a couple of hours reading and at the vice, i decided to try tying a small black dry fly size 14. Have to say you guys on here make it look easy. :z14

See below for my first effort, sorry about the picture quality was taken on my phone.

I have also bought another empty fly box which i intend on filling with my own tied fly for next season. have been online and bought some materials to tie some simple spider patters as i enjoy fishing these. But what i need to know is what else should i carry in my flee box for my first full season on the don??

Don't want to go crazy on materials but i'm sure that will happen. :z4
Any links to where i can get step by steps for what you suggest i should try would be great too.

Cheers
Dan

Jim Eddie

Re: First fly tying kit.
« Reply #1 on: 23/12/2011 at 21:35 »
Dan

Thatt looks like a nice fly  :z16

:z18

Jim

danbruce

« Reply #2 on: 23/12/2011 at 21:44 »
Cheers Jim,

How long it'll last when i start fishing it i don't know :z8 but guess i have more then enough time to fill a good sized box with flies.

Dan

Mike Barrio

« Reply #3 on: 23/12/2011 at 21:52 »
Nice work Dan ..... should catch a fish or two for you :z16

Cheers
Mike

Loxiafan

« Reply #4 on: 23/12/2011 at 22:05 »
Hi Dan,

Firstly, good on you for taking the plunge in to flytying and what a great first effort - way better than my first attempts that all had massive heids, though I was only 12 !