Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

David Davies

reel wanted
« on: 12/02/2009 at 20:28 »
greetings to you all in snowy scotland from an equally cold and snowy north yorks
I am only a novice  having discovered haddo only on a visit to my sons two years ago, I started off with a basic rod and reel (very basic) however before my last visit before christmas I bought a rod off Sandy , and superb it is. Even though I caught fish on my last visit I think its time to upgrade my basic (very basic) reel to one that that would do justice to sandy"s fine rod, if anybody has anything that is surplus to requirements I would be most willing to pay a fair price . I will be up again at haddo first week in april (god willing) and I hope to get some fishing in
the rod I bought of sandy was a david norwich 9 foot 5/6 wt
many thanks and kind regards for your help
cheers
dave   :z18 

Sandy Nelson

Re: reel wanted
« Reply #1 on: 12/02/2009 at 21:43 »
Dont know what you are looking to spend.
But this would match the rod really well, weight wise and is good value for money :z16

http://www.sportfish.co.uk/product/33558/Greys_G_Series_Fly_ReelSpool.html

Sandy

David Davies

« Reply #2 on: 13/02/2009 at 17:39 »
thanks for that sandy but wouldn"t mind spending a bit more than that
dave

Barry Robertson

« Reply #3 on: 13/02/2009 at 18:01 »
http://www.garryevans.co.uk/loop-lts-x2-fly-reels-551-p.asp

I have a couple of these and rate them very highly!

Or these ones look really nice and have a couple of friends who swear by them   :wink

http://www.snowbee.co.uk/fly_reels.html

Hamish Young

« Reply #4 on: 13/02/2009 at 18:02 »
How much more :?
What do you want from the reel :? World is your oyster when it comes to reels  :cool:

You might consider a (now discontinued) Lamson Velocity (a 2 or 3 would be fine) and in this months Trout and Salmon (page 93) Linsley Brothers they have some excellent offers on a number of reels - including the Velocity.