Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

Peter Davidson

Obviously a quandary- should a fishing report not at least hint at the hunted? If so I am in the wrong place, but only by desperation as there is no absolute beginners section for me to lurk in.

Today, Sunday 22nd January was a pivotal date in my fly fishing career - which now stretches from waaaaaaaaay back at the day before the 2016 season closed to............. almost the last week in January 2017. Today I cast my first fly with there being any - and I do stress the point, ANY chance of a fish's mouth being open, in the wrong place at the wrong time whist its' brain was confused enough to believe there would be manna from heaven arriving to brighten a cold, overcast Sunday in that boring time between big filling lunch and Ski Sunday coming on, seemingly ever later.

It was not a knee jerk reaction - open the curtains and think - fishing day, no - not by no means. It was a day of medium term planning, myself free of work for the day, good lady away south, jaunting no doubt for the week, whilst my fishing companion had worked hard at brownie points to have a day off from a fairly new wife and a young family. Those of you old enough to know the mere male human with a live in spouse has little say in their own time will appreciate this dedication and possibly understand why we shrugged off the following.