Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

harvey84

Hi, I'm new to the forum and relitivly new to inverurie. I was hoping to introduce myself and maybe get some fishing advice for the river urie.

I'm also new to fly fishing, I've done lots of sea fishing and  coarse fishing in the past so not completely green but fancied trying my hand at fly fishing with my eldest lad now we're out here. I've been doing some swatting up on fly fishing and thinking of getting a few casting lessons up at lochter for the two of us, hoping we can make good use of lochter as a practice ground.

But what really intrests me is fishing the urie, its very close to my house so would be great just to nip out for an hour or two through the season. The only thing is I've never seen a soul fishing in nearly two years and wondered why? Is it mainly because it's very overgrown with high banks or is it because there isn't a good head of trout? Any local advise would be much appreciated.

Also is it possible to wade in the urie, especially up around the osprey village development? My house is close to one of the named pools on the fishing map for inverurie, I think its 19  , the horse shoe. I figured this would be a good place to start...the reason I asked about wading was because of all the vegitation in the summer would make it difficult to cast. But I've found a couple of spots were the bank allows easy route down to the river.

Any advice on good spots, techniques, flies to use or maybe more importantly any dangerous spots to  avoid that anyone is willing to share would be very welcome.

Hope to maybe see you around this season

Tight lines

Rick

Mike Barrio

Re: Introduction & hopefully advice on the River Urie
« Reply #1 on: 25/03/2015 at 23:40 »
Hi Rick,
Welcome to the forum :z16