Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

Scolopax

Newbie seeks help on Leaders and droppers
« on: 13/02/2014 at 12:54 »
Well, finally got the cash to order my Barrio lines today.  But something Will said when he was showing me how to start fly tying had me thinking.

I never knew people fished a 'set of flies' - I just thought you tied one on the end and that was it - you see, I said I was a newbie !!

So, my question is in two parts (one for river and one for loch fishing).  How far away should the point fly be from the first dropper and how long should the line for each dropper be ??   And should you always fish three flies or is just two good ??

I guess you all have favourite set ups, so will try a few on my first outing and see what happens.

Thanks in advance

Liam Stephen

Re: Newbie seeks help on Leaders and droppers
« Reply #1 on: 13/02/2014 at 13:26 »
Hi  :z16

I tend to fish a 9ft tapered leader with between 3-6ft of tippet. If fishing the rivers I will usually only fish the dry but on occasion I fish a team of two spiders, nymphs, wets. In this case I would space my flies evenly with 2 or 3ft between. My favourite method on this river is the klink n dink or duo where you fish a very buoyant dry fly and suspend a nymph below. If fishing this way I would add 2ft of tippet to my tapered leader the add a further 2ft to the bend of my dry (can also use with a dropper) then tie on my nymph. This is a very good searching method, try it.

On the stillwaters I fish much the same way just upping breaking strain. Hope this helps.

Cheers
Liam

Scolopax

« Reply #2 on: 13/02/2014 at 19:06 »
Thanks for explaining your setup Liam

I will certainly have a go with a nymph and dry first, plucking up the courage to go for the very first time is not easy.  I am sure there are a lot of things I am unaware of, do's and don'ts etc.  And I am not sure where to go for my first expedition either.