Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

cerbfan

New coarse fishery in Aberdeen
« on: 23/06/2009 at 22:05 »
Sorry to bring this up in a fly fishing forum however there are no local fishing forums that cater for coarse anglers as far as I can see.

I am very interested in opening up a commerical coarse fishery somewhere in the Aberdeenshire area and would be interested to know what the level of interest would be if I went ahead. If any of you have been to places like Magiscroft this is the sort of venue that I would be aiming for, several different lakes with different species mix and maybe a specimen Carp lake (no trout I'm afraid as they are already well catered for).

So would anyone have any opinions on this also if anyone knows any suitable sites, circa 10 - 20 acres for sale then please let me know.

Rob Brownfield

Re: New coarse fishery in Aberdeen
« Reply #1 on: 24/06/2009 at 08:11 »
Am I dreaming?

I have been pushing for something like this for around 25 years! I used to run the Grampian Pike Club but my real interest lies with Carp and Tench..hence being a member of the Scottish CArp Group.

There IS a potential market up here, a relatively big one, but what tends to happen is folk move to the area with work, realise they will have to travel to catch coarse fish and end up keeping some of there gear but switching to trout etc. Having a water near to Aberden would perhaps stop folk from doing this.

A few years ago one of the local Trout fisheries talked about openning a small coarse pond and asked me to give him the names of anyone who might be interested in coarse fishing...I had a list of 72 names there and then!