Fishing The Fly Scotland Forum

Jim Eddie

Tailing Loops
« on: 02/12/2008 at 19:43 »
I was having a bit of a practice on Saturday but had to give up in frustration  :mad  I could not stop throwing tailing loops , the harde I tried the worse it got.

I was casting West to East , the wind was coming North to South , does wind actually have any impact on the problem or is it just my casting ?

:z18

Jim

Iain Goolager

Re: Tailing Loops
« Reply #1 on: 02/12/2008 at 20:29 »
Hi Jim,

this is one of my biggest annoyances - the curse of the self taught veteran?.
If I could only get a handle on this problem,  I 'think' addressing this would allow me to move closer toward the technique that I'm aiming for.

Hope you weren't practicing whilst fishing! tut! tut! :z10

Iain

Jim Eddie

« Reply #2 on: 02/12/2008 at 20:38 »
I was Iain and its so wrong  :z4 Seriouslly as soon as things start to go wrong , you just give up and go and fish  :z4

Jim

Iain Goolager

« Reply #3 on: 02/12/2008 at 20:43 »
Yes, Mike was right leave the practicing and fishing seperate.

Practicing the double haul while fishing = new leader & an instant return to what you know

Ben Dixon

« Reply #4 on: 02/12/2008 at 22:55 »
Hi Jim,
Wind does funny things to your cast, even when you know how you should be casting you will be subconsciously compensating for the wind.  You were probably overhitting the cast and making it tail, best thing for a wind is a narrow loop and high line speed but it is hard to practice either when fishing and even harder to diagnose whe  I have not seen it.  If you know you will be passing through Banchory at any time, drop me a line and I will have a look if the shop is not too busy.

Cheers

Ben

Peter McCallum

« Reply #5 on: 02/12/2008 at 23:47 »
What Ben said.

It's the 'one last push' that does it.

Jim Eddie

« Reply #6 on: 03/12/2008 at 06:39 »
Thanks for the advice guys , knowing what I'm doing wrong is one thing , stopping doing it is another  :wink

Jim

Irvine Ross